In the state of California, a first-time conviction for driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs results in no less than 4 days in jail. The maximum jail sentence for a first-time drunk driving offense is 6 months, and the maximum fine is $1,000 plus penalties. Your driver’s license will also be suspended for up to 10 months and not returned until a state-approved DUI counseling program has been completed.
In some instances, an ignition interlock device (IID) will be required and must be installed at the guilty party’s expense. Ignition interlock devices are always required for individuals with a previous DUI conviction on their record. This is when the Law Office of Albert Perez Jr can help you.
California DUI laws specify that:
- Drivers may not have a BAC of .08% or higher.
- Commercial drivers may not have a BAC of .04% or higher.
- Drivers under 21 may not have a BAC of .01% or higher.
- Repeat offenders may not have a BAC of .01% or higher.
- Drivers under 18 may not have any measurable BAC.
The designation “wet reckless” is a classification below DUI that may be offered if the driver’s BAC was on the bubble, there was no accident involved, and the defendant does not have a prior conviction. For repeat offenders, a prior “wet reckless” is generally considered a prior drunk driving conviction.